The Motion Picture Academy elects its first Asian president, film producer Janet Yang

House Movies The Motion Picture Academy elects its first Asian president, film producer Janet Yang

Congratulations, Janet Yang! The producer of many hit films, including “The Joy Luck Club” and “The People vs. Larry Flynt”, was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences this afternoon by the organization’s board of governors.

“Janet is an extremely dedicated and strategic leader who has an incredible record of service to the Academy. She has been instrumental in initiating and elevating several Academy initiatives on membership recruitment, governance, equity, diversity and inclusion,” the Academy’s new CEO, Bill Kramer, said in a statement. look forward to working closely with her on our shared vision to serve our members, celebrate the collaborative arts and sciences of filmmaking, and inspire the next generation of filmmakers.”

Executive producer Janet Yang before a 25th anniversary screening of “The Joy Luck Club” presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Wednesday, August 22, 2018.

Here is a list of other officers for 2022-23:

  • Teri E. DormanVice President (Chair, Membership Committee)
  • Donna GigliottiVice President/Secretary (Chair, Governance Committee)
  • Lynette Howell-TaylorVice President (Chair, Awards Committee)
  • Larry KaraszewskiVice President (Chair, History and Preservation Committee)
  • David LindeVice President/Treasurer (Chair, Finance Committee)
  • Isis MussendenVice President (Chairman, Museum Committee)
  • Kim TaylorColemanVice-Chair (Chair, Equity and Inclusion Committee)
  • Wynn P.ThomasVice President (Chair, Education and Outreach Committee)

Yang is beginning her first term as President and her second term as Governor General, a position for which she was nominated by the Academy’s current President and elected by the Board of Governors. Gigliotti, Karaszewski, Linde, Mussenden and Thomas were re-elected as officers. This will be the first officer stint for Dorman, Howell Taylor and Taylor-Coleman.

Yang’s many film production credits include “Zero Effect,” “High Crimes,” “Dark Matter,” “Shanghai Calling,” and the Oscar-nominated animated feature “Over the Moon.” She won an Emmy® for the HBO movie “Indictment: The McMartin Trial.” A member of the Academy’s Producer Branch since 2002, Yang most recently served on the Board of Directors as Vice Chairman and Chairman of the Membership Committee and, prior to that, the Membership and Governance Committee. She is also co-chair of the Academy’s Asian Affinity Group.

The Board of Directors establishes the Academy’s strategic vision, safeguards the financial health of the organization and ensures the achievement of its mission.

PS Jobs like this are exhausting and thankless. So thank you in advance!


Roger Friedman started his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years at Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His film reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes and he is a member of the film and television branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years, including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid-90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn’t). not so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. . He is also screenwriter and co-producer of “Only the Strong Survive”, a selection from the Cannes, Sundance and Telluride festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Comments are closed.