The Motion Picture Academy adds Marlee Matlin, Jason Reitman and 10 others to its board of directors

Actor Marlee Matlin, director Jason Reitman and producer Jason Blum join the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The organization that organizes the Oscars said Wednesday they were among 12 Hollywood professionals who were elected to the board for the first time. Others join cinematographer Dion Beebe, casting director Richard Hicks, marketing and public relations manager Megan Colligan, documentarian Chris Hegedus, editor Nancy Richardson, production designer Missy Parker, craftsman of sound Peter Devlin, VFX maestro Paul Debevec and Marlon West of the Academy’s Short Animated Films and Features Branch.

Each of the academy’s 17 branches is represented by three governors who help set and guide the academy’s strategy and manage its financial health. Other governors currently in office include Whoopi Goldberg, Ava DuVernay and Rita Wilson. With this election, the majority of the board is female and 28% of members belong to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

The academy and the board have been under more scrutiny than usual following the incident in which Will Smith slapped Chris Rock at the Oscars ceremony earlier this year. A few days later, the board banned Smith from attending the Oscars or any other academy event for 10 years.

Lindsey Bahr is an AP screenwriter

Comments are closed.