Kajol and Suriya among the 397 new members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Actors Kajol, Suriya and filmmakers Sushmit Ghosh, Rintu Thomas, Reema Kagti and Pan Nalin are among the 397 new members invited this year by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

In a statement shared on its website, the Academy late Tuesday night said the list includes artists and executives who have distinguished themselves through their contributions to motion pictures.

Selection of members is based on professional qualifications, with an ongoing commitment to representation, inclusion and equity remaining a priority.

“The Class of 2022 is 44% female, 37% are from underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 50% are from 53 countries and territories outside of the United States,” the Academy said in the statement. .

Kajol, the star of Hindi films such as “My Name Is Khan” and “Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham…”, and Suriya, popular for his work in Tamil cinema through the films “Jai Bhim” and “Soorarai Pottru” , were invited by the actors branch.

Included in the documentary branch are Ghosh and Thomas, whose “Writing With Fire” was nominated for Best Documentary Feature at this year’s Oscars.

Kagti, known for his Hindi films such as ‘Talaash’, ‘Gully Boy’ and ‘Gold’, received an invitation from the writers branch.

Nalin, best known for his films “Samsara”, “Angry Indian Goddesses” and “Last Film Show”, was invited by the director branch.

From the Indian film industry, Oscar-winning actor AR Rahman, megastar Amitabh Bachchan, superstars Shah Rukh Khan, Vidya Balan, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan and Ali Afzal as well as producers Aditya Chopra, Guneet Monga, Ekta Kapoor and Shobha Kapoor, are already members of the Academy.

Indian-British director Aneil Karia is also on the guest list sent by the director branch. Karia’s ‘The Long Goodbye’, starring British-Pakistani star Riz Ahmed, won the Oscar in the live action shorts category this year.

Among the guests are 71 Oscar nominees, including 15 winners, the Academy said.

Among this year’s Oscar winners on the list are “CODA” writer-director Sian Heder and “Drive My Car” director Ryusuke Hamaguchi, who were invited to the director and screenwriter branches.

Hamaguchi’s “Drive My Car” won the Oscar for Best International Feature Film earlier this year and “CODA” picked up wins in three major categories: Best Supporting Actor for Troy Kotsur, Best Adapted Screenplay for Heder and Best Picture, the first price.

Bhutanese filmmaker Pawo Choyning Dorji, nominated for “Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom” for Best International Feature Film at the 2022 Oscars, has also been approached by the director and screenwriter branches.

Dane Jonas Poher Rasmussen, director of the Oscar-nominated animated documentary “Flee”, was invited by three sections: directors, screenwriters and documentaries.

According to the Academy, these four people must select a branch when accepting membership.

Those who accept invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2022, he added.

There are a total of 17 branches, 25 of which received invitations from individual members today.

Others on the list include this year’s best supporting actress Ariana DeBose, best original song winners Billie Eilish and her brother Finneas O’Connell as well as nominees Jamie Dornan (“Belfast”), Jesse Plemons ( “The Power of The Dog”), alongside “The Northmen” star Anya Joy Taylor and “Drive My Car” star Hidetoshi Nishijima.

Comments are closed.