Billie Eilish and Finneas invited to join the Motion Picture Academy – Billboard

Billie Eilish and Finneas, who won an Oscar in March for co-writing ‘No Time to Die’ from the James Bond film of the same name, were invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences on Tuesday (June 28). They were among 12 people invited to join the music branch and 397 people invited to join the Academy in all branches.


See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

An invitation to join the Academy is usually a perk of winning an Oscar. Ariana DeBose, who won Best Supporting Actress for West Side Storyand Troy Kotsur, who won Best Supporting Actor for CODAwere invited to join the actors branch.

The Academy notes in a statement that “Member selection is based on professional qualifications, with continued commitment to representation, inclusion and equity remaining a priority. The Class of 2022 is 44% female, 37% are from underrepresented ethnic/racial communities and 50% are from 53 countries and territories outside the U.S. There are 71 Oscar nominees, including 15 winners, among the guests.

Thirteen Branches issued more invitations than the Music Branch this year. Only three extended less. Here is a breakdown of the branches, ranked by the number of invitations to join this year: animated shorts and feature films (41), documentaries (38), sound (32), actors (30), producers (30), visual effects (28), executives (26), marketing and public relations (25), general members (25), writers (22), directors (21), production designers (16), makeup artists and hairstylists (13), film editors (12), music (12), costumers (11), directors of photography (10) and casting directors (9).

Four people, all administrators, have been invited to join the Academy by several branches. These are Pawo Choyning Dorji (Lunana: a yak in the classroom), Ryusuke Hamaguchi (Drive my car, wheel of fortune and fantasy), Sian Harries Heder (CODA, Tallulah) and Jonas Poher Rasmussen (Run away, look for Bill). Rasmussen was invited by both the directors and the documentary branches; the other three were invited by the director and screenwriter branches. These individuals must select a branch when accepting membership.

Other notables invited to join are Jamie Dornan, Kodi Smith-McPhee, and Sheryl Lee Ralph (acting), as well as film critic Leonard Maltin and music supervisor Julia Michels (members-at-large).

The Academy noted in a statement that those who accept invitations will be the only additions to its membership in 2022. If someone has not received an invitation, there is no mechanism for them to apply through it. -same.

If all 2022 invitees accept membership, the total number of members (including emeritus members) will be 10,665 and the number of voting members will be 9,665.

The Recording Academy also issued invitations to its new class of 2022 members on Tuesday, but it is not revealing the names of everyone invited.

Here are the 12 people who have been invited to join the music branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences. Film credits are provided by the Academy.

  • Billie Eilish Baird O’Connell – no time to die
  • Amie Doherty – Spirit Untamed, The High Note
  • Lili Haydn– Get naked, get up, broken kingdom
  • Leo Heiblum – Graceful Maria, Frida
  • Nathalie Holt- Fever dream, end of the trip
  • Nathan Johnson – Nightmare Alley, At Knives Out
  • Jacobo Lieberman– Graceful Maria, Frida
  • Ariel Rose Marx- Baby Shiva, rebel hearts
  • Hesham Nazih – The guest, born king
  • Finneas O’Connell- no time to die
  • Dan Romer – Luca, the wild beasts of the south
  • Nerida Tyson-Chew – H is for Happiness, Anacondas: The Blood Orchid Hunt

Comments are closed.