Academy of Cinema Arts and Sciences announces 2021 student winners and medals


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the 17 winners of the 48th Student Oscars competetion.

This year’s winners were chosen from a pool of 1,404 nominations from 210 domestic and 126 international colleges and universities. Previous winners of the Student Academy Awards are Patricia Cardoso, Cary Fukunaga, Spike Lee, Patricia Riggen and Robert Zemeckis.

More Variety

The gold, silver and bronze prizes in the seven categories will be presented by directors Pete Docter (“Soul”, “Inside Out”), Asghar Farhadi (“A Hero”, “The Salesman”), Marielle Heller (“A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood,” “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”) And Nanfu Wang (“In the Same Breath,” “One Child Nation”). The Academy will organize a virtual program to honor the winners. Amandla Stenberg will be the host.

All Oscar-winning films are eligible to compete for Oscars in the categories best animated short, best live action short and best documentary short.

Here is the full list of winners.

Alternative / experimental (national and international film schools)

Gold: “Frozen Out”, Hao Zhou, University of Iowa

Animation (National Film Schools)

Gold: “Unforgotten”, Sujin Kim, California Institute of the Arts

Silver: “Barking Orders”, Alexander Tullo, Ringling College of Art & Design

Bronze: “Slumber with Snakes”, Teagan Barrone, Cleveland Institute of Art

Animation (International Film Schools)

Gold: “Les Chaussures de Louis”, Théo Jamin, Kayu Leung and Marion Philippe, MoPA (France)

Documentary (National Film Schools)

Gold: “When They Gone,” Kristen Hwang, University of California, Berkeley

Silver: “Eagles Rest in Liangshan”, Bohao Liu, New York University

Bronze: “Not Just a Name,” De’Onna Young-Stephens, University of Southern California

Documentary (International Film Schools)

Now: “Why didn’t you stay for me? », Milou Gevers, Nederlandse Filmacademie (Netherlands)

Narrative (National Film Schools)

Gold: “When the sun goes down”, Phumi Morare, Chapman University

Silver: “Close ties to the country of origin”, Akanksha Cruczynski, Columbia College Chicago

Bronze: “No Law, No Heaven”, Kristi Hoi, University of California, Los Angeles

Narrative (International Film Schools)

Gold: “Tala’vision”, Murad Abu Eisheh, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)

Silver: “Adisa”, Simon Denda, Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München (Germany)

Bronze: “Bad omen”, Salar Pashtoonyar, York University (Canada)

Watch the full 2021 Student Academy Awards here.

The best of variety

Sign up for Variety newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.